From “Lurker” to “Tweeter”

Posted on

Yes, I have had a twitter account for years. No, I have never posted a tweet in my life. So how do I go from lurker to active tweeter?

Taken from: https://imgflip.com/i/naybe
Taken from: https://imgflip.com/i/naybe

 

 

I have had a twitter account for years, but have checked it maybe twice in my entire life. Until last week, I literally had no idea what Twitter was used for. So having to check Twitter daily, and actually post, has been a really big step for me. I would have preferred to lurk for a few weeks and check out different people and how they post, but I decided to jump right in! And by jump right in, I mean retweeting other peoples tweets, and occasionally pushing myself to come up with something on my own…

 

The more I use Twitter, the more I think it would be a great tool to use in the classroom!
I decided to come up with a few ways I could use in my classroom:

  • A communication tool: to stay connected with parents and students; using it to remind about assignments, special days, or last minute notifications!
  • Discuss cyber-safety and PLN: using it as a way to discuss cyber safety, and have students be aware of what they are posting!
  • Find resources for class/assignments: use hashtags to search for information on different topics, such as current events
  • Further learning by communication: tweet a politician, or author we are studying
  • Network with other classrooms: connect with classrooms from across the world, and ask other students questions about what they are learning about
  • Interact with the lesson: I could post a question or topic on Twitter, and have the students share their answer and respond

 

I was amazed at how easy it was to find resources simply by using hashtags, and how many educators actually use Twitter to share ideas. As a teacher, I am looking forward to networking with other educators, and finding resources that I can use in my classroom!

Happy tweeting!

One thought on “From “Lurker” to “Tweeter”

    Meagan Lane said:
    January 26, 2017 at 2:09 am

    That picture is amazing! great list on how to use twitter in the classroom. I really want to, I think it’s a great option!

    Like

Leave a Reply

