Battle of the Scarf

Posted on Updated on

Last week, my sister and I had our weekly “battle of the closest.” And yes, it is as intense as it sounds.

Photo taken from: http://tiny.cc/molliescarf
Photo taken from: http://tiny.cc/molliescarf

Long story short:  I was getting ready to go outside, couldn’t find my favorite scarf, she obviously took it, and an argument ensued. After a few “kind” words were exchanged, she concluded with,  “well why don’t you just make me one then?” And here we are folks, my newest crocheting project, the wondrous infinity scarf that will fix all my missing-scarf problems.

My goal for this project was to complete my scarf by reading a pattern, and not by following along to a YouTube video like I have been doing for my past projects.  I googled an easy- scarf pattern, and wah-la, the lovely Mollie Infinity Scarf.  The reason I chose this pattern is because it was one of the only patterns I found that used only the single crochet.  (My last project used about 5 different stitches- which was great and fun to try for creating the small 4 x 4” piece of wool; not something I was really looking forward to attempting with a 3 foot long scarf.) The pattern I found was actually really helpful as it had an introduction, which included a glossary of sorts for the different abbreviations of stitches used.

front-loop
Photo taken by: http://tiny.cc/frontloop

I read over the pattern, and while it only required the single crochet, it did ask to crochet through the front loops only. From what I have learned about crocheting so far from YouTube, I was 75% sure could figure out how to crochet through the front loop. My only problem was that I wasn’t quite sure what the front loop was… After a quick google search, I found an image- and was now 99% I could do the front-loop single crochet. But, I wanted to be 100% sure, so I resorted to YouTube for a quick 1-minute demo to see if my prediction was correct. Turns out- I was, and could’ve done without the video, but when it comes to a 200 stitch scarf, it wasn’t really something I wanted to have to go back and re-do.

 

 

Fast track to now- a week later:scarf 

I am about half way done my scarf, and this is what I learned this week:

 1. Crocheting a scarf takes longer than you’d think: Honestly, I thought I would have been done a few days ago, but it is taking much longer than I anticipated,

2. I would now classify crocheting as one of my “official hobbies”: It has become a very therapeutic activity for me, and I actually look forward to sitting at home in the evening and completing a few chains.

3.“Crocheter’s Elbow” is a real thing: The pain exists, people. Stretch that elbow! (And yes, I actually searched on how to fix this.)

So here is my scarf, half-way-done! My plan is to do a few more rows of the white, and then crochet an exact copy of that mini-scarf, except in another color. I will then crochet the two colors together, and attach the ends to create the infinity scarf shape! Fingers crossed that it goes as planned.

Let me know what you think, and if you have any ideas on what the next color of my scarf should be!

Thanks!

  • S
7 thoughts on “Battle of the Scarf

    paigeemcnabb said:
    February 8, 2017 at 7:07 pm

    Sarah… you might have to line up a side business this looks great! How long did it take you?

    Like

      Sarah Munro responded:
      February 9, 2017 at 12:12 am

      Thanks Paige! So far I’ve put in around 10 hours- but I multi-task while watching Netflix so it’s too bad 🙂

      Like

    mstyminski said:
    February 8, 2017 at 11:08 pm

    Great Work, you are doing so well. You should be very proud of yourself. It is great you found a new hobby! The next colour I think you should use is mint green or grey.

    Like

      Sarah Munro responded:
      February 9, 2017 at 12:14 am

      Thanks- I decided to go with grey after all!

      Like

    ms.sonen said:
    February 9, 2017 at 12:08 am

    I cant believe you made this! This looks awesome!! I think that your next scarf should be purple!
    Happy Crocheting! 🙂

    Like

    Robbi Nace Keller said:
    February 10, 2017 at 1:18 pm

    It looks great!!!

    Like

    3rd Times a Charm Right? – Shae Kowaniuk said:
    March 23, 2017 at 10:16 pm

    […] thought I past this part in my crocheting journey… I was wrong. As Sarah mentions in her post Battle of the Scarf, “crocheter’s elbow is a real thing”; Boy is she ever right. I think I will be […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

